Speak Boldly, Till The Whole World Hears (John 14:17)

“The Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him; but you know Him, for he dwells with you and will be in you.”        – John 14:17
How is it that the world cannot receive the Spirit of truth? How can the world not see Him or know Him? The world cannot receive, see, or know the Spirit of truth simply because, they have not heard. However, the believer believer knows the Spirit of truth because, the Spirit of truth dwells with them, and will be in them. We know from John 14:16, that Jesus prayed to the Father on behalf of believers for the Lord to send us a helper. The Spirit of truth or “Holy Spirit” is a gift from God, to aid believers and help them persevere in their walks with the Lord. As I continue to study John 14:17, I cannot help but to feel convicted. The world cannot receive the precious gift of the Spirit of truth because, they have not heard! 1 John 4:6 says, “We are of God. He who knows God hears us; he who is not of God does not hear us. By this we know the Spirit of truth and the spirit of error.”. This verse clearly states that the believers know God and the Spirit of truth because, they have heard of him. Maybe its not just that the world hasn’t heard but that they believe the things of God to be foolish. 1 Corinthians 2:14 says, “But the natural man does not receive the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; nor can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.”. It could be that they are just foolish and are spiritually discerned. Proverbs 1:7 says, “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and instruction.”. So, its safe to say that the world cannot know the Spirit of truth for two reasons: 1) The world has not heard and 2) The world is foolish ans despises wisdom and instruction. As believers we have a Great Commission (Matthew 28:17-20) to go into all the world and make disciples of all nations by preaching the gospel and baptizing in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. We are called to spread the truth of God’s word, and teach the nations to observe all things the Lord has commanded. Not only are we to do this but, we are to do so boldly. Ephesians 6:20 the apostle Paul says, “for which I am an ambassador in chains; that in it I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak.”. I find that the apostle Paul is a great example of what it means to follow the Lord and declare his truth. Paul is also a great example of being obedient to the Lord, and remaining faithful to his plan and trusting in his power for all things. As I previously stated before, the verse of John 14:17 left me feeling somewhat convicted. I’ve come to realize I haven’t been proclaiming God’s truth as boldly as I should be. I want the world to be able to know the Lord and the Spirit of Truth. I want the world to see Him and know Him just like I do, actually, I desire for them to know Him more than I do. I’m still growing in my relationship with the Lord and I’m still getting to see the Spirit of truth dwelling in me. For this is my desire O’God, let your desires become mine and let the world hear of your truth. Empty me Lord, Fill me Lord, Use me Lord, and do a work through me Lord. Till the whole world hears.
I will right “SPEAK BOLDLY” (from Ephesians 6:20) on my hand, to remind me to speak boldly of God’s truth so that the people of the world will be reached and have the opportunity to receive the Spirit of Truth that wants to dwell in their hearts. I will also spend time in prayer, asking the Lord to help me grow my appreciation for the gifting of his spirit and for him to pour a fresh outpouring upon me.

Photo Credits: Potter's Field Ministries

Leave a comment