Lowliness of Mind (Philippians 2:3)

“Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself.”                    – Philippians 2:3
This verse is very applicable to everyone’s life but, especially to mine in this current time. I am here in Antigua, Guatemala for a mission training program called IGNITE. In my class (class 9) we currently have 12 teammates, and every single one of us has been called here. Its crazy to think that the Lord had this plan for all of us before the beginning of time. Each of us has come from different areas, and different places in our walks with the Lord. We are all striving for the same goal, and running at in with endurance. Having a team so focused on the Lord and his calling on their lives, it is very important that we all are walking in the conduct of Jesus. Philippians 2:3, exemplifies this very desired conduct. This verse tells us that we are to let nothing be done, or said through selfish ambition or conceit. Living in a community where everyone lives so close to one another and has little to no personal space, this is very important. It is easy because of our flesh, to act and do things out of our own selfishness. We want to push ourselves forward and do what is best for us, forgetting what it could do to others. “but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself.”, acting in selfish ambition and conceit is not how we are called to act. Acting in selfish ambition and conceit is not acting in godly conduct. We are to in the lowliness of mind, esteem others before and better than ourselves. This is applicable to my current situation with my teammates but, it is also applicable to everyone in their daily lives, no matter the circumstances. Instead of being focused on myself, I need to be focused on God and focused on God’s people. I need to lower myself just like Jesus did in John 13, and wash the feet of my teammates so that they are being cleansed, purified, and remaining set apart as holy. We can all do this by edifying one another, building each other up to produce and bear fruits in labor. It is not my desire and I pray it will never be to push myself before my teammates. If we are all running this race of face with boldness and all endurance, we can all push each other ahead and finish well. We should not hold envy in our hearts but, we should hold love for one another. Romans 12:10 says, “Be kindly affectionate to one another with brotherly love, in honor giving preference to one another.”. I need to be kindly affectionate to my teammates, having brotherly love for them. I also need to in honor, give preference to them above myself. We are of one body (1 Corinthians 12) and yet we have many parts, we are still one body that is called to work together and to love each other.
preference to them above myself. We are of one body (1 Corinthians 12) and yet we have many parts, we are still one body that is called to work together and to love each other.

lowliness

Leave a Reply

