My Soul Longs, Yes (Psalm 84:2)

“My soul longs, yes, even faints for the courts of the Lord; My heart and my flesh cry out for the living God.” -Psalm 84:2
I’ve read this verse over and over again over the years that I have been walking with the Lord but, for the the first time in my life, I now know what it feels like to with all your soul crave the dwelling place of the Lord. Psalm 84 is a Psalm of the sons of Korah whom saw the blessedness that comes from dwelling in the house of the Lord. They saw the loveliness and liveliness of our God and understood the praise that is due to His name because of His expounding goodness. Psalm 84:2 begins by saying “My soul longs, yes, faints for the courts of the Lord.”. I began to ponder what it would mean to have my soul long so much for the courts of the Lord, that it would faint… My soul is my whole self, my whole mind, my passions, the activity of my free will, and all of that breathes and lives within me. To have my soul long and yearn after, be completely overwhelmed and exhausted with such a desire and passion to be with the Lord, I cant even begin to understand. I can only imagine the capacity and intensity of such an inner yearning that brings you to the point where your soul faints to be in His holy presence. Psalm 63:1 says, “O Go, You are my God; Early will I seek You; My soul thirsts for You in a dry and thirsty land where there is no water.”. To seek the Lord like this would require serious self discipline. Jesus sought the Lord early in the morning, showing me the strength in His soul to immediately be in communion with the Lord. Early he sought the Lord and early he worshiped and praised the God of His life. Jesus truly set the example of a soul so sold out for the Lord, that he had an everlasting thirst, an everlasting constant desire for the sweetness of His Lordship. The world is a extremely dry desert land, filled with people thirsting for satisfying water. I used to be a person whom thirsted and i still am but, I’ve realized what my soul needs, I have found the only thing that will ever satisfy me, I have found Jesus. With all that is in me, in the weakness and vulnerability of my rotten flesh, I cry out praising The Lord and ruler of my life, the one and only LIVING God. Jeremiah 10:10 says, “But the Lord is the true God; He is the living God and the Everlasting King.”. Isn’t it incredible that we have an everlasting resource of love, joy, peace, long suffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control. His love will always endure, and always be graciously poured upon us. I crave the Kingdom courts of the Lord! My soul longs with an exhausting desire to be in the presence of my blessed Savior. With all I am, I will sacrifice my praise and worship you my Lord. Your name will always be on my lips, and the sweetness of your loving kindness will always be engraved in my heart. My soul longs for you My God! My soul is fainting for You! My heart and soul is crying out in desperation for You! You have captivated me, and I will willingly remain in Your hands.

.summerr

TIL THE WHOLE WORLD HEARS

IGNITE CLASS 9

TEAM GUATEMALA

SUMMER BRACKEN

Leave a Reply

